YOGA boosts your brain power!

YOGA boosts your brain power!

 “That walking-on-air feeling you get after an hour’s yoga is not just a placebo – the postures give your brain a big blast of a calming neuro-transmitter, says an MRI scanning study.  Boston USA University scientists scanned 19 volunteers after they had been doing an hour’s yoga, including triangle postures and downward dog postures.  They had a 27% boost in their levels of gamma-amino-butyric acid. This induces relaxation and calms the emotions and brings a feeling of well being.”  The Times, June 2007

  I love yoga. The archived news clip above proves how powerful it can be, in a positive way.  So I was dismayed to read an article a few weeks ago, called ‘How Yoga Can Wreck Your Body’, in the New York Times.  This article’s content was drawn from a book published earlier this year, called ‘The Science of Yoga, The Risks and Rewards’ by William J Broad.  William J Broad is a senior science writer for The Times.  His claims created a debate in the media, (and I’d guess that the publicity will have done no harm to the promotion of his book).

The yoga I do seems to bear no relation to the yoga William Broad is talking about. In a one and a half hour class of over 50 people, we do loads of deep calming breathing, and do most of the postures with our eyes closed.  With the postures, we are tutored not to worry about extent, we concentrate on direction. That way it’s very hard to pull muscles, or wreck joints, or worse.  I come back from my yoga class feeling I’ve had a holistic workout, full of inspiration for my current plot, ahem…until I get side-tracked by the internet, of course 🙂

If you’re a writer and a yoga fan, I’d love to hear if you think it helps you with your writing.

Rosie

x

About Rosalie Ash

Rosalie Ash is a member of the Society of Authors and the Romantic Novelists Association. Between 1989 and 1999 she wrote 21 successful contemporary romance novels, published by Harlequin Mills & Boon. She then decided to drag herself out of her romantic bubble into the world of work. Now, over a decade on, she has started writing romantic fiction again, as well her latest passion, children's picture books for age 3-5, and she is now a member of SCBWI-UK (Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, UK).
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to YOGA boosts your brain power!

  1. I love yoga and I was disappointed in the artice in the new york times. People who don’t practice yoga at all have made comments to me about how yoga can be dangerous. It’s like this article has given people the false feeling of knowing about the practice and the right to talk about the risks. what about the benefits?
    I love the yoga haze you referred to. I call it yoga brain. I’m not a writer (except for my blog!) but I am an elementary school teacher and the calm feeling I get from yoga is definitely beneficial to my students as well as myself!

    • Rosalie Ash says:

      Thank you for your comment. I am pleased to hear that you feel passionate about yoga, as I do. I’ve been practising yoga for about 30 years, and can honestly say it has always done me enormous good, never harm! All the best, Rosie.

  2. Hi Rosalie, I agree that yoga helps in all areas of life, including writing. Also after a walk in the local woodlands I find I can write better.

    • Rosalie Ash says:

      Hi Susan, thank you for your comment which I have only just found (sorry, only excuse is I’ve been offline abroad for several weeks)! There was a programme called Tales from the Wild Wood on BBC 4 last Wednesday, where one of the themes was the healing properties of woodlands, so you are definitely not alone in finding woodlands inspirational!

Leave a Reply

